Angles are everywhere !

Kirti Chadda
3 min readAug 30, 2022

--

Teaching angles can be so much of fun , I never realized until I concluded my unit on angles. Our learning focus was the types of angles : right, acute , obtuse, straight , complete and reflex. I also introduced to them ‘how to use a protractor’ !

Here are a few glimpses of engagements for teaching angles that bought the learning along with the fun and were very beneficial.

“I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.” by Confucius

This is one of my all time favourite quote and I always keep this in my mind whenever I go to my classes. I tried few fun activities during lesson to make my learners understand the topic better.

Angles in my name

I gave them a sheet of paper with their names written on it and then I asked them to recognise the type of angles in their name. The amazing part was when few of them measured the angles too along with the names of the angles.

Angles in my name

Angles with my body

I asked my learners to represent me their understanding of the angles not with the ruler , pencil and paper but rather with the body. Using our bodies, we created all different sizes of angles. The straight angles were a bit tricky and the stretchy !

Straight and obtuse angle
Acute angle with legs and obtuse , right angle with arms.
Right, acute , obtuse and straight angles

Bringing the active learning in the class was necessary as I not only wanted to generate the interest in them but we know how engaging the learners in the activities benefits the learners:

1. Builds confidence: It builds the confidence in the learners when they were able to make the angles with their body .

2. Creates retention about the topic through mind-body connection: When children were using the mind and body together, it spark a connection in the neuron of the brain to help in processing and retention of new information.

3. Develops the love for the topic: When children enjoys the learning , then they love the topic too. The resounding claim by my learners is how much they LOVE in exploring how much they can stretch was a great fun.

The discussions in my classroom have helped mold many changes in mathematic fun and learning and the feedback from not only my kids but from parents too was amazing:

Feedback written by the parent :)

Children respond to learning when engaged , challenged and enjoying their tasks!

--

--

Kirti Chadda

Mother, teacher, a friend to kids, and a lifelong learner. Love to share ideas and experiences.